The Municipal Council is the governing and legislative body for the Municipality of the County of Kings. Council is responsible for establishing priorities, policy direction, monitoring and evaluating the implementation of programs, and authorizing revenue collection and expenditures.

Council is composed of a Mayor and nine Councillors. Council members are elected directly to Council with one Councillor being elected in each of the nine Districts. The Deputy Mayor is then elected from among the Councillors.

Councillors serve for a four-year term of office. The current term began in October 2020. Kings County’s political and administrative decision-making structure includes the Council, the standing and special committees of Council, operating and support departments, various agencies and special purpose authorities.