Joint Accessibility Advisory Committee

Accessibility Plan Engagement: Entering Phase 2

The Municipality of the County of Kings and the Villages of Aylesford, Canning, Cornwallis Square, Greenwood, Kingston, New Minas and Port Williams invite area residents to review and provide feedback on the Draft Accessibility Plan, ensuring that all residents have fair and appropriate access to services and resources.

Take the Phase 2 Accessibility Plan Survey Here before January 24, 2022.

Review the draft Accessibility Plan by clicking here.

Plan Appendices can be found by clicking the links below:

The Accessibility Plan development process will run from September 2021 - April 2022, and will result in the first Accessibility Plan for the Municipality and the Villages. This plan will be foundational for future decision-making regarding all things accessibility within the Municipality, the Villages, and the Kings Transit Authority.

Engagement for this project is split into 2 phases. During Phase 1 of engagement, which ran from October 12 - November 12, we collected community feedback to identify what works, what doesn’t work, and what can be improved when it comes to accessibility within the community. These insights were then used to help inform the creation of the Draft Accessibility Plan.

Phase 2 of engagement, which is scheduled to close on January 24, offers the community a chance to ensure that their insights have been captured effectively by the plan. Residents are invited to review the Draft Accessibility Plan and provide feedback by taking the online survey. Print copies are also available at the Municipality of the County of Kings in Coldbrook. Feedback collected during this phase will be used to finalize the Accessibility Plan.

Please note that engagement opportunities have been organized to respect the realities of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The full project timeline can be seen below:
  • September 2021:
    Development of the Accessibility Plan Initiated
  • October 2021:
    Online Survey Launched
    In-person Engagement Activities
  • November 2021:
    Community Feedback Analysis
  • December 2021:
    Prepare Draft Accessibility Plan
  • January 2022:
    Public Review of Draft Plan
  • February 2022:
    Finalize the Accessibility Plan
  • March 2022:
    Approve the Accessibility Plan

For the Municipality and the Villages to improve accessibility to the services they provide in our communities, it’s very important that we hear from those residents who are facing accessibility challenges and their families, so we can address the issues they are facing directly. This engagement process has been designed to provide multiple opportunities for the public to share their insights and experience, and to provide practical direction for meeting the needs of those who are living with disabilities.

Want to stay informed on this project as it progresses? Sign up for email updates below:

Email Signup:

On the 19th March, 2021 the Municipality of the County of Kings and the Villages of Aylesford, Canning, Cornwallis Square, Greenwood, Kingston, New Minas and Port Williams came together to form the Joint Accessibility Advisory Committee.

Purpose of the Committee
  • The Committee’s purpose is to provide advice to Municipal Council and the Village Commissions on identifying, preventing and eliminating barriers to access faced by people living with disabilities in municipal programs, services, initiatives and facilities.
  • The Committee will play a pivotal role in helping the Municipality and the Villages to become accessible communities that comply with Nova Scotia’s Accessibility Act (2017).
What is the Nova Scotia Accessibility Act?
  • The Act defines a disability as a physical, mental, intellectual, learning or sensory impairment, including an episodic disability that, in interaction with a barrier, hinders an individual’s full and effective participation in society.
  • The Accessibility Act and the Municipality and the Villages recognize accessibility as a human right, and have set a goal to make Nova Scotia and the Kings Region accessible to all before 2030 by preventing and removing barriers that restrict people from fully participating in society.
Who is on the Committee?
The Committee consists of sixteen (16) voting members and includes:
  • One (1) member of Municipal Council, who is also a member of the Kings Transit Authority Board of Directors, and one member from each of the seven (7) Village Commissions; and
  • Eight (8) members of the public who either live with disabilities, or who work or volunteer with organizations that work with people living with disabilities.
  • There must be at least one member of the public from each of the three areas indicated on this map. If no applications are received from one of the three areas, an applicant from another part of the Municipality may be appointed to represent that area. Applicants who work or volunteer with organizations that work with people living with disabilities may be from any area of the Municipality.

For more information about this Committee, including a list of current members and access to meeting agendas and minutes, please go to the Boards and Committees page and select “Joint Accessibility Advisory Committee” from the drop-down menu for External Committees. Then click on the “View” button.

Following are links to more information about the Nova Scotia Accessibility Act and the Joint Accessibility Advisory Committee:

Nova Scotia Accessibility Directorate

October 6, 2020 Report to Council: Options for Accessibility Advisory Committee (refer to page 28)

December 15, 2020 Report to Committee of the Whole: Approval to form Joint Accessibility Advisory Committee with Villages (refer to page 48)

Intermunicipal Service Agreement between the Municipality of the County of Kings and the Villages to form a Joint Accessibility Advisory Committee

Following are links to Municipality By-Laws and Policies governing Committees of Council:

By-law 54 Nominating Committee

By-law 102 Committees Governance

Policy ADMIN-01-002 Citizen Appointments to Boards and Committees

Policy ADMIN-01-016 Administration of Standing and Advisory Committees of Council

Policy FIN-05-002 Councillor and Committee Remuneration